menu Home chevron_right
Blog PostNews

Robert Hood returns to Rekids with ‘The Blueprint EP’ this July

Jon | May 25, 2021

Following 2020’s ‘Mirror Man’ LP on Radio Slave’s Rekids, Detroit pioneer Robert Hood returns to the label with a four-track EP of his trailblazing minimal techno. Leading the release, ‘Chroma Light’ opens with cinematic pads and pounding 4/4 patterns as twisted synthesis modulates throughout for a striking start. Followed by ‘The Majestic (Deeper Edit)’, with rattling percussion and fiercely relentless stabs, Hood shows his intent in creating propulsive, dancefloor focussed cuts across the EP.

On the flip, ‘The Majestic’ takes the B1 spot, expanding on the previous track with wild synths and his signature machine-like drums before ‘Ultrasonic Room’ closes out the release with eerie atmospherics and an underlying hypnotic pulse taking centre stage.

A founding member of Underground Resistance alongside Mad Mike Banks and Jeff MillsRobert Hood is one of techno’s originators, with his decorated career spanning three decades across labels like TresorPeacefrogMusic Man Records, and of course, his own M-Plant.


A1. Chroma Light
A2. The Majestic (Deeper Edit)
B1. The Majestic
B2. Ultrasonic Room

The post Robert Hood returns to Rekids with ‘The Blueprint EP’ this July appeared first on Only Techno.

Written by Jon


This post currently has no comments.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

  • cover play_circle_filled

    01. Deep K [Soniquarium

  • cover play_circle_filled

    02. Dreamers of Dreams

play_arrow skip_previous skip_next volume_down